Little Eightmile Lake Hike – Alpine Lakes Wilderness

Alpine Lakes Wilderness – Eightmile Lake

So I originally wrote this the weekend after Memorial Day, but due to finals and the my PC laptop crashing I was never able to edit the last few photos I wanted to show on my trip. So now finally on June 24th I’m able to get this post finished. So some of you might ask well how is this so Jeremy? Well I forked out more money for a new laptop I finally made the plunge to a mac I’ve had the Ipad for a few months now, and it has become a vital piece of gear for trips like this, and also my portfolio as well as just daily stuff that I don’t need a laptop. I went out and got a 13.3 inch mac pro with the I5 core and upgraded to 8GB of ram. I must say this machine is a beast, and I love it to death. Now all I need is one of those fancy Apple thunderbolt displays to go with it lol, but as the future wife to be says I want to many things. So I know this will not happen anytime soon. I’ve already had to upgrade my camera, and laptop this year, not to mention the bills that will be coming for the wedding.

Anyways so now that I have given a long winded blog about how long it took me to post this blog, I was fortunate to get away for one day during Memorial day with the fiance, to celebrate what we call the first true weekend of summer, we went up to “The Alpine Lakes Wilderness” in the Levensworth area, and did a night of car camping and hiking.

Anyone who has been on these hikes, or is from Washington know these are some of the most wonderful, as well as more challenging hikes. I have been dreaming of getting to the Alpine Lakes for many years, and finally we made that happen. Armed with our brand new 2012 Nissan Rouge we set out to conquer our first hike of the season.

Here you can see the topo of the trail. I really wish we would have made it up to the bigger lake. I didn’t realize until later it was only 250 feet higher and closer to Dragonstail Peak. The hike was still beautiful, and I’m so glad we decided to get up to this are and hike. Here are a few photos from the trip.

Icecicle River Heading toward the Eightmile Lake Trail head.

Me & Spring having a couple moment why the camera does all the hard work!

Some purple wildflowers blooming along the trail

We only made it to the Little Eightmile Lake, didn’t realize the bigger lake was only a half mile further, thought it was further with a bigger elevation gain, oh well there is always next time! This final image is an HDR. Well I know it’s a little late of a blog, but I hope you enjoyed. you can find more photos that will be added to soon at these addresses.

http://www.jeremydanielphotography.com

http://www.facebook.com/jeremydanielhotos