John “Prince” Albert Shoot

Recently I had the joy of shooting with up and coming UFC fighter John Albert. As most of you know I have been really shooting sports portraits for about a year now. It has not been my main focus, as my love for shooting landscapes, as well as other subjects have also been a priority. I’ve also taken a break because I felt like I still need some gear that would lead me to wanting to shoot more everyday. I’m currently working on the later part, Not to mention the school, work, vacation, summer, and trying to plan concepts for shoots I want to complete. But when the opportunity came up to shoot with someone from the UFC how could I resist? 

I know that to some people the UFC has become the mac daddy of all sports, and a lot of fighters are currently on the roster. But to me it doesn’t matter how or who I shoot it’s still a step up for me to improve my skills with someone who is considered the best at what they do. John is a relatively unknown UFC fighter, though he does have a pretty solid fan base, especially here in the State of Washington. Personally I meet John through one of my best friends who has been doing his ink and used to train at the same gym as him. When I met John I thought he was one of the coolest down to earth guys I’ve met. He is very humble and respects what he does for sure! As I met him he had been preparing for his fight in Seattle on the UFC on Fox 8 Card. He will be taking on Yaotzin Meza I got to follow John around for a day and come up with some ideas for a shoot. To me all my sports stuff had been in a studio or composites, but with John I ended up pushing myself to stick with simple but pure edgy rawness when shooting. It took me a little time to get comfortable and get the shots I wanted, but in the end they turned out great. To me it was a whole different level than working with a model who looked like they played sports, or someone who played pro sports, but only awhile ago, to someone who was training and preparing for a professional fight and who’s time was precious and limited. 

I learned that with my talks with John being in the UFC is no guarantee you have to bust your ass everyday and hope that your hard work, and maybe a little luck helps you move forward, but you got to keep pushing and keeping scratching and clawing because even though the market is flooded weather a UFC fighter, or a Photographer, or anything else in todays market you can’t just expect that without long hours, little pay, and harder work than probably even working for the man for far less money to start, if you keep reaching and fighting you will get to the promise land! Just remember once you are there don’t give up and keep working toward new goals, and new dreams.”

 Overall I think the images turned out amazing, and it was a great learning experience for me on a level I had not been at before. Considering most the photographers people work with at this level know exactly what they need and how to get it, usually doing test shots in their own studio first, unfortunately for me I’m not there yet, but with the experiences I’ve been having lately and the ability to still put out a final product I can be proud of, I just know when I get to that next step up the ladder it will be all that much better.

I have been working hard on some new concepts and ideas, and trying to get a set of lighting gear that I know will help me improve my ability to just learn my own gear and how to get what I want quickly. I’m looking forward to hopefully working with some more fighters and getting some more amazing shots down to add to my collection. For anyone out there who is new to the game, it’s a tough life trying to live your dream no matter what you do. I learned that with my talks with John being in the UFC is no guarantee you have to bust your ass everyday and hope that your hard work, and maybe a little luck helps you move forward, but you got to keep pushing and keeping scratching and clawing because even though the market is flooded weather a UFC fighter, or a Photographer, or anything else in todays market you can’t just expect that without long hours, little pay, and harder work than probably even working for the man for far less money to start, if you keep reaching and fighting you will get to the promise land! Just remember once you are there don’t give up and keep working toward new goals, and new dreams.

Jeremy_Daniel_Photography_John_Albert-7935
Jeremy_Daniel_Photography_John_Prince_Albert-7942
 
